Home Forums UiPath How to run a python script from UiPath?

Tagged: ,

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    AutomationGeekAutomationGeek
    Participant

Hey ! I am new to RPA (UiPath). I want to run a python script which is renaming some files present in my computer memory and i want to run that script form uipath. Is it possible ? if yes then please help me with this.

Thanks in Advance . 🙂

Girish AmetaAdmin
    Keymaster

Hi @AutomationGeek

Let me explain the process in below mentioned steps:

Step 1: Install  a package UiPath.Python.Activities from Manage Package Section in UiPath Studio.

Note* : UiPath supports python version 3.6 or above.

This package contains total 5 Activities.

1.      Python Scope:- A container which provides a scope for Python activities and initializes the specified Python environment. This will take python of Python.exe file and version of python as input attribute.

2.      Invoke python Method:- by using this activity you can invoke a particular method present in a python script but first you have to load that python script using Load python Script Activity. These all activity should used under the python scope activity.

3.      Run Python Activity :- this activity can run a whole python script and will take path to the file you want to run or also you can direct pass the code as string input.

Step 2:  Add Python Scope activity and pass the path to python.exe file present in your system.

Step 3: Add run python script activity pass path to file as input.

Sample Python File Code:

This is the file flow to run this file.

Hope It Works !!

• This reply was modified 1 year, 5 months ago by Girish AmetaAdmin.
    • This reply was modified 1 year, 5 months ago by Girish AmetaAdmin.
    JohnRPAJohnRPA
    Participant

Hi @admin

Installing packages for every new things may get UiPath to make slow in loading activity? Is it a good way to have additional packages for every activity?